《全球难民契约》

哈桑山营区位于伊拉克北部,于2016年由联合国难民署(难民署)建立,旨在安置因在摩苏尔的军事进攻而流离失所的人们。联合国图片/Sarmad Al-Safy

  作为2016年《纽约宣言》后续行动的一部分,2018年,难民事务高级专员将起草一份《全球难民契约》,并列入提交给大会的年度报告。

  2016年9月19日,联合国大会一致通过了《关于难民和移民的纽约宣言》,这份具有里程碑意义的政治宣言旨在改善国际社会对待难民和移民大规模流动问题的方式以及旷日持久的难民局势。

  《纽约宣言》提出了难民问题全面响应框架,包括需要采取的具体行动,以减轻收容国的压力,提高难民的自力更生能力,让更多的人可选择第三国解决方案,并支持在来源国创造有利于安全和有尊严地回返的条件。《纽约宣言》呼吁难民署将这个框架应用到特定情况中,并与相关会员国密切协调,携手其他联合国机构和利益攸关方,以评估其影响,从而做出进一步的完善。

  在此基础上,难民事务高级专员将于2018年起草一份《全球难民契约》,列入提交给大会的年度报告,供大会第七十三届会议审议。

《全球难民契约》

  难民署设想《全球难民契约》将包括互为补充的两部分:

  1. 难民问题全面响应框架:作为《纽约宣言》附件一,该框架由会员国商定,宣言的序言和结尾也都对该框架作了补充说明;
  2. 行动纲领,该行动纲领对难民问题全面响应框架起支撑作用,该框架提出了可以由会员国和其他相关利益攸关方采取的行动,行动纲领则确保了其得到充分落实。

未来步骤?

  落实《全球难民契约》的工作正通过与会员国和其他相关利益攸关方协作和协商逐渐开展,涉及多个相互关联领域,包括:

  1. 将难民问题全面响应框架应用于特定国家或情形,包括通过从当前或过去的难民局势中汲取教训;
  2. 开展非正式的专题讨论,确定对实现《纽约宣言》难民设想至关重要的行动,为落实难民问题全面响应框架以及发展《全球难民契约》提供参考。这些讨论的议程将与会员国和其他相关利益攸关方协商制订,并将尽可能利用现有的会议和进程;
  3. 2017年底开展审查(包括通过12月份高级专员关于保护方面挑战的对话),评估进展情况,总结经验教训,为《全球难民契约》奠定基础。

  所有这些工作的开展将采取得到大会认可并在《纽约宣言》中得到表达的多利益攸关方、“全社会”方式,将涉及“国家和地方当局、国际组织、国际金融机构、区域组织、区域协调和伙伴关系机制和民间社会合作伙伴,包括基于信仰的组织和学术界、私营部门、媒体和难民本人”。

  难民署将在2018年2月前拟定《全球难民契约》的草案,届时,与会员国和其他相关利益攸关方的正式协商也将开始。

  协商之后,《全球难民契约》将列入高级专员提交给大会的2018年年度报告。

Global Compact on Refugees

Hassan Shan camp was opened by UNHCR in Iraq to accommodate people displaced by the Mosul military offensive. UN Photo/Sarmad Al-Safy

Hassan Shan camp, northern Iraq, was opened by the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) in 2016 to accommodate people displaced by the military offensive in Mosul. UN Photo/Sarmad Al-Safy

As part of the follow up to the 2016 New York Declaration, the High Commissioner for Refugees will propose a Global Compact on Refugees in his annual report to the General Assembly in 2018. 

On September 19, 2016 the United Nations General Assembly unanimously adopted the New York Declaration for Refugees and Migrants, a landmark political declaration that is directed at improving the way in which the international community responds to large movements of refugees and migrants, as well as to protracted refugee situations. 

The New York Declaration sets out a Comprehensive Refugee Response Framework (CRRF), with specific actions needed to ease pressure on host countries, enhance refugee self-reliance, expand access to third-country solutions, and support conditions in countries of origin for return in safety and dignity. It calls upon UNHCR to apply the framework to particular situations, in close coordination with relevant States and involving other United Nations agencies and stakeholders, and to assess its impact with a view to refining it further.

On the basis of this work, the High Commissioner for Refugees has been requested to propose a ‘global compact on refugees’ in his annual report to the General Assembly in 2018, to be considered by the Assembly at its seventy-third session.

The Global Compact on Refugees

UNHCR envisages that the Global Compact on Refugees will comprise two complementary parts:

  1. The Comprehensive Refugee Response Framework, as agreed by Member States in Annex I to the New York Declaration, supplemented by preambular and concluding paragraphs; 
  2. A Programme of Action underpinning the Framework that sets out actions that can be taken—both by Member States andby other relevant stakeholders—to ensure its full implementation.

What are the next steps?

Work towards the Global Compact on Refugees is taking place in cooperation and consultation with Member States another relevant stakeholders, in a number of interconnected areas, including:

  1. The application of the Comprehensive Refugee Response Framework to specific countries or situations, including by drawing lessons from existing or past refugee situations;
  2. Informal thematic discussions to identify the actions that are essential to the type of refugee response envisaged in the New York Declaration and thus inform the application of the Comprehensive Refugee Response Framework and the development of the Global Compact on Refugees. The programme for these discussions will be developed in consultation with Member States and other relevant stakeholders and will utilize existing meetings and processes where possible; and
  3. Stocktaking will take place in late 2017 (including at the High Commissioner’s Dialogue on Protection Challenges in December) to assess progress made, identify lessons learned, and lay the groundwork for the Global Compact on Refugees.

All of this work will be undertaken in accordance with the multi-stakeholder, ‘whole-of-society’ approach endorsed by the General Assembly in the New York Declaration that involves ‘national and local authorities, international organizations, international financial institutions, regional organizations, regional coordination and partnership mechanisms, civil society partners, including faith-based organizations and academia, the private sector, media and the refugees themselves’.

By February 2018 UNHCR will prepare a draft of the Global Compact on Refugees and formal consultation with Member States and other relevant stakeholders will commence.

Following consultations, the Global Compact on Refugees will be presented in the High Commissioner’s 2018 Annual Report to the General Assembly.