对策

图片说明:移徙者,包括幼儿,在塞尔维亚米拉特瓦契流动。

图片说明:移徙者,包括幼儿,在塞尔维亚米拉特瓦契流动。

  大量民众被迫流离失所,现已形成一种全球危机,需要国际社会在世界领袖领导下做出集体努力。联合国秘书长潘基文呼吁人人齐心协力,找到一条以国际难民法、人权和人道主义法为指导的光明前进道路。

  难民和移徙者人数已经打破纪录,他们正在跨越国际边界,逃离冲突、迫害、贫困和其他危及生命的局势,或者顺应劳动力和技能短缺及人口变化,在其他地方寻求更好的机会。他们的路程上危机四伏;每天的头条消息中都有骇人听闻的悲惨故事。那些终于到达目的地者经常遭遇敌意和不容忍言行。那些努力提供救济的收容社区常常准备不足,且因抵达人数过多而不堪重负。责任分配不合理:少数国家和收容社区收容了过多人数的难民、寻求庇护者和移徙者。

  大量民众流离失所不仅有丧生危险,对社会、经济和政治格局也有着很广泛的影响。

  国际社会需要采取更加有力的对策,不同的利益攸关方需要协作,以应对难民和移徙者大规模流动。联合国系统、非政府组织和合作伙伴正在协力强调这个问题,以获得援助承诺并加强对这场危机的集体对策。

全球对策

  难民和移徙者大规模混合流动,影响到所有联合国会员国,需要各方更加密切地合作且更加积极地分担责任。联合国大会因此而采取行动应对这一问题,在其通过的2015年最后一项决定即第70/539号决定中,决定在2016年9月19日召开一次高级别全体会议,商讨如何解决难民和移徙者大规模流动问题,并请联合国秘书长潘基文就此问题编写一份附有建议的报告。

  鉴于出现了第二次世界大战以来最紧迫、量最大的人道主义需要,联合国秘书长说:“这不仅是一场数字危机,也是团结和声援方面的危机。”5月9日,秘书长将在题为“有安全和尊严:处理大规模难民和移民流动问题”的报告中提出建议。

  全球各地正在举行一系列活动,以便为解决这个问题打造势头,其中包括:

  • 在2016年2月的支助叙利亚伦敦会议上,捐助方的认捐额创造了纪录:为来自叙利亚及该区域的难民认捐100亿美元。鉴于叙利亚危机的严重程度及其对其他远近国家的影响,难民署于2016年3月组织了一次部长级会议,重点讨论通过叙利亚难民接纳路径更加公平地分担责任。
  • 2016年5月23至24日在伊斯坦布尔举行的史上第一次世界人道主义峰会。此次峰会的优先事项之一是商讨如何“确保采取一种全球办法来管理被迫流离失所问题,重点是确保难民或境内流离失所者有希望、有尊严,并且支助收容国家和社区”。
  • 9月19日将举行联合国大会高级别会议,各国将齐聚一堂,寻求综合和协调的人道主义办法。
  • 在大会期间,即在2016年9月20日,美国总统奥巴马将主办难民问题领袖峰会,届时将呼吁各国政府就难民问题做出新的重要承诺。

  更多信息见重大活动时间表

可持续发展目标

  世界领导人于2015年9月通过的可持续发展目标将调动各方力量,集体终止一切形式的贫困、打击不平等现象和应对气候变化,因为这些是导致大量民众流离失所的部分原因。为了实现移徙、难民和发展方面的可持续发展目标,原籍国、过境国和目的地国必须遵照一系列共同原则和办法开展合作,这包括重视发展、人权与移徙和难民之间的联系。

Response

Migrants, including small children, on the move in Miratovac, Serbia

Migrants, including small children, on the move in Miratovac, Serbia

The large forced displacement of populations is now a global crisis that requires a collective effort by the international community, led by world leaders. UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon is calling on everyone to work together to define a clear path forward guided by international refugee law, human rights and humanitarian law.

Record-breaking numbers of refugees and migrants are moving across international borders, fleeing conflict, persecution, poverty and other life-threatening situations, or responding to labour and skill shortages and demographic changes and seeking better opportunities elsewhere. Their journeys can be fraught with peril; appalling tales of tragedies feature daily in the headlines. Those that make it to a destination are frequently met with hostility and intolerance. Those host communities making an effort to provide relief are often unprepared and overburdened by the sheer numbers arriving. Responsibilities are not well distributed: a small number of countries and host communities host disproportionate numbers of refugees, asylum seekers and migrants.

Beyond loss of life, the large displacement of populations has broader implications for the social, economic, and political landscape

The international response needs to be more robust and collaborative amongst a variety of stakeholders to address large movements of refugees and migrants. The UN system, NGOs and partners are all working to highlight the issue, to secure commitments for assistance and to strengthen the collective response to the crisis.

Global response

Large-scale mixed movements of refugees and migrants affecting all UN Member States and they require closer cooperation and more robust responsibility-sharing. In response, the UN General Assembly (UNGA) took action to address the issue and in one of its final decisions of 2015, adopted a decision 70/539, deciding to convene a high-level plenary meeting on addressing large movements of refugees and migrants on the 19 September 2016 and requesting UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon to prepare a report with recommendations on the issue.

With the highest level of humanitarian needs since the Second World War, the UN Secretary-General has said “This is not just a crisis of numbers, it is also a crisis of solidarity.” The Secretary-General issued his recommendations on 9 May 2016 in a report 'In Safety and Dignity: Addressing Large Movements of Refugees and Migrants.'

global series of events are taking place to build momentum around this issue including:

  • At the Supporting Syria Conference in London in February 2016, donors pledged a record $10 billion for refugees from Syria and the region. In view of the magnitude of the Syrian crisis and its impact on other nations, near and further afield, UNHCR in March 2016, organized a ministerial-level meeting to focus on more equitable responsibility sharing through Pathways for Admission of Syrian refugees. 
     
  • The first-ever World Humanitarian Summit (WHS) on 23- 24 May 2016 in Istanbul. One of the priorities of the Summit is to look at ways of ensuring a “global approach to manage forced displacement, with an emphasis on ensuring hope and dignity for refugees or internally displaced people, and support of host countries and communities.”
     
  • The UN General Assembly High Level meeting on 19 September which will bring countries together behind a comprehensive and coordinated humane approach.
     
  • On the margins of the General Assembly, on 20 September 2016, United States President Obama is hosting the Leaders' Summit on Refugees which will appeal to governments to pledge significant new commitments on refugees.

Find out more about in the timeline of major events.

Sustainable Development Goals

The Sustainable Development Goals adopted by world leaders in September 2015 will mobilize efforts to collectively end all forms of poverty, fight inequalities and tackle climate change, many of the reasons for large displacements of populations. To achieve the Sustainable Development Goals regarding migration, refugees and development, countries of origin, transit and destination are required to cooperate around a series of common principles and approaches, which include focusing on the link between development, human rights and migration and refugees.