الاستجابة

المهاجرون، بما فيهم الأطفال، على الطريق في ميراتوفاك، صربيا.

المهاجرون، بما فيهم الأطفال، على الطريق في ميراتوفاك، صربيا.

يمثل النزوح القسري للسكان بأعداد كبيرة الآن أزمة عالمية تستلزم من المجتمع الدولي بذل جهد جماعي، بزعامة قادة العالم. ويهيب الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، بان كي مون، بالجميع إلى العمل معاً على تحديد طريق واضح للمستقبل استرشاداً بالقانون الدولي للاجئين، والقانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الدولي الإنساني.

ويتحرك عدد غير مسبوق من اللاجئين والمهاجرين عابرين الحدود الدولية، هرباً من حالات النزاع والاضطهاد والفقر وغيرها من الحالات التي تهدد الحياة، أو استجابةً لنقص العمالة أو المهارات وللتغيرات الديمغرافية وبحثاً عن فرص أفضل في مكان آخر. ومن الممكن أن تكون رحلاتهم محفوفة بالمخاطر، فالمآسي المريعة تتصدر عناوين الصحف يومياً. ومن يصلون إلى وجهتهم كثيراً ما يقابلون بالعدائية والتعصب. والمجتمعات المضيفة التي تبذل جهدا من أجل تقديم الإغاثة عادة ما تكون غير مستعدة أو تحت عبء مفرط بسبب الأعداد الغفيرة القادمة. ولا تتوزع المسؤولية جيداً، فعدد قليل من البلدان والمجتمعات المضيفة يستقبل أعدادا غير متناسبة من اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين.

وعلاوة على فقدان الحياة، فإن نزوح السكان بأعداد كبيرة له آثار أوسع نطاقا على المشهد الاجتماعي والاقتصادي والسياسي.

وهناك حاجة إلى أن تتسم الاستجابة الدولية بمزيد من القوة وبروح تعاونية أكبر بين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة للتعامل مع التحركات الكبيرة للاجئين والمهاجرين. وتعمل الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات غير الحكومية والشركاء جميعا على إلقاء الضوء على هذه المسألة وتأمين الالتزامات بالمساعدة وتعزيز الاستجابة الجماعية للتصدي للأزمة.

 

الاستجابة العالمية

تؤثر تحركات مختلطة كبيرة الحجم للاجئين والمهاجرين على كل الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة وتتطلب تعاوناً أوثق ومشاركة أقوى في المسؤولية. وفي إطار الاستجابة، اتخذت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة إجراءات لمعالجة هذه المسألة، وفي أحد قراراتها النهائية في عام 2015، اتخذت المقرر 70/539 الذي يقضي بعقد اجتماع عام رفيع المستوى بشأن التعامل مع التحركات الكبيرة للاجئين والمهاجرين في 19 أيلول/سبتمبر 2016 ويطلب إلى الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، بان كي مون، إعداد تقرير يتضمن توصيات بشأن المسألة.

 ومع تسجيل أعلى مستوى من الاحتياجات الإنسانية منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية، قال الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة ”إن الأزمة ليست أزمة أرقام فحسب، بل هي أزمة تضامن“. وسوف يصدر الأمين العام في 9 أيار/مايو توصياته في تقرير بعنوان ”بأمان وكرامة: التعامل مع التحركات الكبيرة للاجئين والمهاجرين“.

         سلسلة مناسبات عالمية لبناء التضامن الدولي والزخم حول هذه المسألة بما في ذلك:

  • في مؤتمر دعم سوريا في لندن في شباط/فبراير 2016، حيث تعهد المانحون بمبلغ غير مسبوق مقداره 10 بلايين دولار للاجئين من سوريا والمنطقة. وبالنظر إلى حجم الأزمة السورية وأثرها على بلدان أخرى، قريبة وبعيدة، نظمت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في آذار/مارس 2016 اجتماعاً على مستوى الوزراء للتركيز على المشاركة الأكثر عدلاً في المسؤولية من خلال سبل قبول اللاجئين السوريين.
  • في أول مؤتمر قمة للعمل الإنساني من نوعه في 23 و 24 أيار/مايو 2016 في إسطنبول. وتتمثل إحدى أولويات مؤتمر القمة في النظر في سبل كفالة ”اتباع نهج عالمي في إدارة النزوح القسري، مع التأكيد على ضمان الأمل والكرامة للاجئين أو النازحين داخلياً ودعم البلدان والمجتمعات المضيفة“.
  • في اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة الرفيع المستوى الذي سيعقد في 19 أيلول/ سبتمبر وسيجمع البلدان حول نهج إنساني شامل ومنسق.
  • وعلى هامش أعمال الجمعية العامة، في 20 أيلول/سبتمبر 2016، إذ سيستضيف رئيس الولايات المتحدة، باراك أوباما، مؤتمر قمة القادة بشأن اللاجئين الذي سيناشد الحكومات أن تتعهد بالتزامات جديدة ذات شأن فيما يتعلق باللاجئين.

استزد معرفة بمضمون الجدول الزمني للمناسبات الرئيسية.

 

أهداف التنمية المستدامة

ستحشد أهداف التنمية المستدامة التي تبناها قادة العالم في أيلول/سبتمبر 2015 الجهود للقضاء بشكل جماعي على كافة أشكال الفقر ومحاربة أوجه عدم المساواة والتصدي لتغير المناخ، وهي أسباب عديدة لنزوح السكان بأعداد كبيرة. ولتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة المتعلقة بالهجرة واللاجئين والتنمية، يتطلب الأمر من بلدان المنشأ والعبور والمقصد أن تتعاون بشأن سلسلة من المبادئ والنهج المشتركة، التي تتضمن التركيز على الربط بين التنمية وحقوق الإنسان والهجرة واللاجئين.

Response

Migrants, including small children, on the move in Miratovac, Serbia

Migrants, including small children, on the move in Miratovac, Serbia

The large forced displacement of populations is now a global crisis that requires a collective effort by the international community, led by world leaders. UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon is calling on everyone to work together to define a clear path forward guided by international refugee law, human rights and humanitarian law.

Record-breaking numbers of refugees and migrants are moving across international borders, fleeing conflict, persecution, poverty and other life-threatening situations, or responding to labour and skill shortages and demographic changes and seeking better opportunities elsewhere. Their journeys can be fraught with peril; appalling tales of tragedies feature daily in the headlines. Those that make it to a destination are frequently met with hostility and intolerance. Those host communities making an effort to provide relief are often unprepared and overburdened by the sheer numbers arriving. Responsibilities are not well distributed: a small number of countries and host communities host disproportionate numbers of refugees, asylum seekers and migrants.

Beyond loss of life, the large displacement of populations has broader implications for the social, economic, and political landscape

The international response needs to be more robust and collaborative amongst a variety of stakeholders to address large movements of refugees and migrants. The UN system, NGOs and partners are all working to highlight the issue, to secure commitments for assistance and to strengthen the collective response to the crisis.

Global response

Large-scale mixed movements of refugees and migrants affecting all UN Member States and they require closer cooperation and more robust responsibility-sharing. In response, the UN General Assembly (UNGA) took action to address the issue and in one of its final decisions of 2015, adopted a decision 70/539, deciding to convene a high-level plenary meeting on addressing large movements of refugees and migrants on the 19 September 2016 and requesting UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon to prepare a report with recommendations on the issue.

With the highest level of humanitarian needs since the Second World War, the UN Secretary-General has said “This is not just a crisis of numbers, it is also a crisis of solidarity.” The Secretary-General issued his recommendations on 9 May 2016 in a report 'In Safety and Dignity: Addressing Large Movements of Refugees and Migrants.'

global series of events are taking place to build momentum around this issue including:

  • At the Supporting Syria Conference in London in February 2016, donors pledged a record $10 billion for refugees from Syria and the region. In view of the magnitude of the Syrian crisis and its impact on other nations, near and further afield, UNHCR in March 2016, organized a ministerial-level meeting to focus on more equitable responsibility sharing through Pathways for Admission of Syrian refugees. 
     
  • The first-ever World Humanitarian Summit (WHS) on 23- 24 May 2016 in Istanbul. One of the priorities of the Summit is to look at ways of ensuring a “global approach to manage forced displacement, with an emphasis on ensuring hope and dignity for refugees or internally displaced people, and support of host countries and communities.”
     
  • The UN General Assembly High Level meeting on 19 September which will bring countries together behind a comprehensive and coordinated humane approach.
     
  • On the margins of the General Assembly, on 20 September 2016, United States President Obama is hosting the Leaders' Summit on Refugees which will appeal to governments to pledge significant new commitments on refugees.

Find out more about in the timeline of major events.

Sustainable Development Goals

The Sustainable Development Goals adopted by world leaders in September 2015 will mobilize efforts to collectively end all forms of poverty, fight inequalities and tackle climate change, many of the reasons for large displacements of populations. To achieve the Sustainable Development Goals regarding migration, refugees and development, countries of origin, transit and destination are required to cooperate around a series of common principles and approaches, which include focusing on the link between development, human rights and migration and refugees.